Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country
Lodging Near Leakey or Garner Park


Lodging Near Utopia or Vanderpool

Guest Comments

Here are some comments from guests who have had enjoyable stays with us.

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

Amazing house and location! We're already talking about a return visit. P.S. loved the ladies at the check-in office!
E.A., Stayed at Frio Treetop October 2016

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

Just wanted to tell you we had a wonderful week-end. We really enjoyed the house and the property. First time on the Frio and we loved the clear water. Hope to go again some time when our grown kids can join us.
Kim from Houston Texas stayed @ Frio Treetop July 29 thru Aug.1, 2016

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country
Hello, Mary and I would like to thank you for the very enjoyable stay we had in the Country Cottage recently. The Cottage was lovely and very peaceful with lots of colorful birds to photograph and the weather, apart from one storm, was also lovely. We are hoping to return again next year.
Best wishes, Mary & Dave Hassell from the UK, stayed 9 nights in April 2016
Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

LeAnn, Thank you so much! We had the BEST time at La Hacienda. We booked the house because it was my 30th birthday + my college graduation! It was the perfect place to celebrate; I had a surprise there too as my boyfriend proposed to me!!! We sat down by the river as the fireflies were coming out when he pulled out the ring. It was literally perfect. I've attached a picture. :-) Some of our friends have said that this was the best vacation they had in a long time and that we should make this a yearly celebration and we agree! I don't have a facebook but my fiance (yay!) does and I will make sure he posts to your page. Maybe next year we'll do the Frio Treetop house! Thanks again, Ellie from Euless, TX - Stayed May 22,23,24, 2016

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

We had such a great time in Utopia this weekend! Can't wait to come back!!!! La Hacienda was absolutely perfect!
Trelle McCombs, Texas A&M Women’s Golf Team stayed at La Hacienda Jan.29&30, 2016
They also watched the ‘Seven Days in Utopia’ movie, then played on the Utopia Golf Course!

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country
A big thank you! Last weekend my husband Julio and I rented Bella Vista. We just wanted to extend our appreciation. My family had a wonderful time and the house was beautiful. It was nice to take a break from our businesses and simply relax. Look forward to booking in the future. Thanks again, Loralie Jourdanton, TX - August 2015 & returning Thanksgiving 2015
Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

Just found this 5 Star Review on Yelp & wanted to share it.
I needed a quiet comfy place to stay for a weekend getaway to visit/hike the Lost Maples SNA, and "Haby Haus" of the Rio Frio Lodging definitely lived up to that. I was impressed by how clean the old country home was. Also loved how it was kept the way it seemed to be since it was built; verrrry 50s, even had old Beatles posters dated back in 1962 on it. Considering I'm a Beatles fan, it was very cool to see. Another thing I enjoyed was the bookcases of antiques and old Early/Meso America books that reminded me of the ones my mom would buy for me back in the mid 80s. Beds were very comfortable. Place was nice and warm for the 35 deg weather we were in. Only about 15-20min from the Lost Maples SNA and Garner State Park as well. If you're looking for a nice little getaway from phones and "the real life", forget hotels... check out the Rio Frio Lodging for a great place to kick back and relax at GREAT prices.
Loved my stay and would definitely go back. Christina O. Houston TX - Nov.27, 2013

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country
LeAnn and Anthony,
The Hideaway was the perfect getaway this weekend (April 17-19, 2015) for my husband and I and our three teenage boys. Everyone had their own comfortable sleeping areas, and the entire cottage was furnished appropriately for everyone. We all took advantage of the beautiful landscape, finding walking sticks along the way and catching quick glimpses of the whitetail deer and Bluebirds. Although I intended to take advantage of the hot tub with my husband, our boys beat us to it! While they enjoyed the warm water, we barbecued on the grill and listened to some oldies. Later we played some chess then enjoyed s'mores out by the fire pit. We couldn't have asked for a more relaxing weekend away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Although I wanted to stay many more days, it was a very refreshing time. Thank you so much!
T Boultinghouse San Antonio, TX April 17&18, 2015
Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

Hello LeAnn, We want to thank you for our recent stay in The Hideaway. We saw lots of different birds but did not manage to photograph many as they did not want to co-operate and perch where I wanted them to pose. The peace and quiet was wonderful and we did not go out very much because of that. It was lovely to stay around the cabin area. We hope we will be able to return next year for another stay. Best wishes, David & Mary Hassell were here Birding from Enfield, United Kingdom - Hideaway cabin - April 9 thru 15, 2014 (7 nights)

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

Just returned from our 3 night stay at Hideaway cabin. My wife and I have stayed at many vacation homes throughout the US. This is one of our favorite places (if not very favorite) we have stayed. You have made the cabin very comfortable inside and out. We loved the hot tub in the evenings and after a long day on the trails at Lost Maples Park. We will be returning again for another stay. Thanks so much. Ross & Barbara - Round Rock, TX – November 1,2,3, 2013

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country
We always look forward to our weekend getaways at the Hideaway Cabin. As we drive up the long gravel driveway to get to the cabin, I can already feel the stress of the city falling away. The secluded stone and cedar cabin is cozy, cute, and clean, and it sits on a gorgeous Hill Country ranch with trails, benches, and lots of wildlife. The ranch is just a few miles from Garner State Park and a beautiful windy drive across the hills to Lost Maples Sate park. Being at the Hideaway is all about relaxing quietly in nature, but it also comes with a wonderful hot tub to relax even more! We've watched many a shooting star from that hot tub on our visits. All around, this is a great place for nature lovers!

Lauren & Peter from San Antonio Texas
Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

LeAnn & Anthony, We wanted to thank you again for a great weekend and letting us enjoy your Frio Treetop property. All of us had a great time and absolutely loved the home, cottage, and all the amenities. You have thought of everything a family would need to enjoy their stay. We are looking at making this an annual trip now! :) Thanks again and look forward to next time.
Bledsoe Family San Antonio TX – stayed May 17&18, 2013

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

My family stayed at the Frio Treetop house 2 years ago, and fell in love with it! Our whole Gerhart clan was there for my uncle Harry's 70th birthday, over Labor Day weekend in 2011. I wondered if Treetop is available again this spring for another family birthday - my mother's 70th. I wanted to see if Mother's Day weekend is free - for 3 nights on May 9, 10 & 11th. I was bummed to see that Memorial Day weekend has already been booked, but I guess the early bird catches the worm! It would be a group of probably 12 or 13 people. I'm really looking forward to heading back to Texas! Leslie - New York, NY

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

LeAnn, We had a great time at River's Edge. The accommodations were awesome and we didn't want to leave. Really enjoyed the deer and the river as well. My grandkids loved it. We will be back!! At one point in time we had 17 deer in the front yard feeding. My grandchildren had never seen anything like it. We wanted to reserve it for Thanksgiving but we see that it is taken. We will come again next year for sure. I'm telling everyone how great you all are and how comfortable we were with the accomodations. Thanks again for letting me know Katherine left her things there. She will be thrilled. Hope to see you again as soon as we get another trip together. Hughes Family from Crosby TX – August 22 thru 25, 2012

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

The Frio Treetop was amazing, the kids and adults had a blast. You have thought of everything at the house! We had an amazing time and hope to be back next year!!! Thanks so much - Mougouris Family from Bellaire, TX - Stayed 5 nights Aug.7 thru 11, 2012

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

We just got back from our stay at the Fortress. We had such a wonderful, relaxing time! The house was perfect for us and the kitchen was very well equipped for preparing and serving our large family meals. Loved the river! Clean and cold, just like we were hoping! There was a boat down by the river so we took it out only to be notified by the neighbor that it was their's so sorry if they complain to you. We played volleyball, horseshoes, enjoyed the hot tub and ended the 4th with smores and watching the fabulous Utopia fireworks. On our way out we had lunch at the Lost Maples Cafe. What a great place and great people! My husband, Marc worked on the film "7 Days in Utopia" so he wanted to take the family back there for vacation.
Thanks for sharing your home and piece of paradise with us! Stayed at Fortress July 3, 4, 5, 2012

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

LeAnn, My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at TJ's Escape. We appreciate the coziness and all the antiques in the cabin. Also the location was the best part, less than 5 minutes from the river but away from crowded campsites. Overall we had very memorable vacation and look forward to coming back. Vela family from San Antonio stayed May 24,25,26, 2012

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

LeAnn, I just wanted to say thank you to you and your husband for all of your help during our stay. I truly appreciate the two of you taking the time out of your Memorial Holiday weekend to ensure our stay was as comfortable as possible. The exceptional customer service you showed us when unexpected things happened just goes to show that there are still honest, hard working, and generous people in the hospitality business. As someone who works in the Customer Service industry, I jump on the opportunity to recognize value and exceptional service in any way possible. Please let me know if there is anyone we can email or call to sing your praises. I will be Yelping and Trip Advisor'ing your company for years to come! We travel to the Frio/Sabinal River area at least 3-4 times a year. Two of those with large groups. Rio Frio Lodging is now at the top of our list of places to stay. We look forward to continuing to do business with you. Sincerely, Alia Garcia - Training Supervisor First Data GSD Education & Performance Services - Customer Service Division (Stayed Memorial Weekend 2012 - A/C unit in their cabin went out on Sunday; we cleaned cabin as soon as other guests left & moved them into it, saving their vacation plans)

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

Hello we are the Gerhardt's from Mesquite Texas. We stayed at the Bluebonnet cabin May 20th thru May 23, 2012. Just to let you know how wonderful our stay at Bluebonnet cabin was, we had a wonderful visit and enjoyed every minute. The birds, rabbits and tree frogs made our visit so delightful. Sitting on the porch at night gazing at the clear night stars was wonderful. We will be looking forward to another stay there in the future. Please pass this on to the owners of that cabin. Thanks Again for all your help, the Gerhardt's from Mesquite Texas

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

LeAnn, We had a wonderful weekend at Water's Edge. I had been looking forward to the clear water of the river, but what we got was much more fun. We were able to really play in the water and go tubing. The home was great and the amenities were great. We hated that the end of stairs was flooded, but glad our guys were able to salvage them for you to repair. We also enjoyed the back decking and the fire pit. Overall, we had an excellent time and hope we are able to do it again soon.
Thank you, the Reed Family from Odessa, TX stayed May 9,10,11,12, 2012 (There during Flood May10th on the Frio)

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

Hello, LeAnn - My Christmas guests who stayed in the Fortress loved it. My nephew and his family really enjoyed reading the history write-up and the archaeological "dig" information. My older son stayed all three nights. His comment: "Awesome." We had a smaller group than we had hoped. But I am so glad they were able to experience the Fortress. We will do this again.
Dianne from Houston & family stayed @ Fortress for Christmas Dec.23, 24, 25, 2011

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

LeAnn, I wanted to let you know that we had a fabulous stay at Treetop. All three families were very impressed with the cleanliness of the place and how well equipped it was. There was a running joke to try to find something that was not available. There was even a funnel when we needed it. As all of the families loved to cook, all the pots, pans and dishes made it easy and enjoyable. The house, decks, rope swing and all the facilities were in great shape. The only suggestion that we could make is for a shower by the hot tub, for although we tried to keep everyone clean going into the hot tub, with nine children and no shower, we were not very successful. As my family has made it a tradition to spend the Thanksgiving week in Leakey on the Frio, we would love to reserve the Treetop again for next year. We would like to see if Treetop would be available 5 nights next year? Thank you for our wonderful stay. The Treetop is really special and we appreciate the care taken to make it special. We loved the fall decorations.
Sally, Alan & Family from The Woodlands, Texas - stayed @ Frio Treetop Nov.19 thru 22, 2011

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

Hi LeAnn!! Our Wedding weekend at Frio Treetop was great! I can't tell you how special you made this weekend for us. Even before I got there, James arrived ahead and was texting me about the Fall decorations. I'm not sure how much you had done before we spoke, but it felt like you had decorated the deck just for us. It just couldn't have been any better! The weather was perfect Saturday. It was a tight squeeze to fit everyone on the deck for the Ceremony, but I think it worked out fine. The views and the leaves just starting to change was perfect for photos. I loved sitting out on the deck for the sunsets, watching the deer and even saw a couple turtles play in the river. The families loved the property, especially mine since we are all nature types. Several people enjoyed the rope swing and I got a few pictures of them going across. I have a handful of my photos up on Facebook. Two of the properties I think are very nice. I have many more but haven't had time yet to go through them.
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.2168905744355.2108035.1298065963&type=1&l=b64966f5a7
I left a couple of our silk printed leaves for you (with our names/date) next to the guest book in case you wanted them for your records. There was definitely talk of coming back again. The time went so fast, it was a blur! Thank you again for allowing us to stay at such a special location!
Danett from Kerrville & James from Houston were married in the Treetop Deck Nov.5, 2011
Click here for photos

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

Labor Day Weekend 2011 – Best 70th Birthday!
An amazing weekend with family and friends. This was the perfect setting to spend quality time together and appreciate Harry’s 70th. Lots of fun rope swinging, conversations on the Treetop deck and great food. Everyone from 8 week old Eva to 70+ year olds enjoyed their time at the Treetop. We hope to have another family gathering here again someday. Thanks!
The Gerhart Clan ++         *The Tree house is hypnotic – thanks Creta
Stayed @ Frio Treetop  Sept.2,3,4, 2011

Frio River Treetop - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Vacation House in the Texas Hill Country

In 1973 Harry Gerhart was CFO of the upstart Texas Monthly Magazine, where he worked the next 16 years as General Manager.He & wife Creta now live in Colorado.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

    Sylvia. We want to thank you for leaving La Hacienda picked up & easy to clean. My husband went there this morning to get the trash, clean the hot tub, patios & grill. He was so surprised to find it that way; usually people leave things in a mess & don’t pick up after themselves. It makes it so much easier to get it cleaned by 3pm for the next guests. We really do appreciate the fact that you respected the property & picked up after yourselves!! You are welcome back anytime!
Rio Frio Lodging LeAnn & Anthony Sharp
    LeAnn, Thank you for writing me such a nice email. I like to leave a place the way I found it, due to the fact we are actually borrowing the place for a little while and we need to respect the house, and outdoors by being conscious of the surroundings. I would like to give you a big thank you for letting us go up in January before reserving it; to see how it was laid out for our Autistic granddaughter, Elena. She really loved the place and you will be happy to know La Hacienda gave her the opportunity to learn how to swim in the river. She did not want to get out of the river towards nighttime. Us having the privacy of the property was a bonus because Elena likes to wonder throughout and she had plenty of room for that. Now my grandson Abner (2 year old) did not want to leave this morning because he wanted to go back into the river. He had a blast and was able to enjoy the outdoors. He loves being outside, and being able to observe all the wild life was awesome for his young eyes. Being in the city we do not have the opportunity to see deer in our backyards in the morning, or seeing a hummingbird feed from the feeder or plants. You and your husband gave these two (Elena and Abner) a special break in their young lives, and that is a special thank you; because you make this property available to rent. (words cannot express the happiness/smiles on their faces) I am deeply appreciative with our vacation results. "La Hacienda" was very special to us and my son is saying he would like to make plans to return next year. Once again LeAnn thank you very much for a memorable vacation for me and my family and hopefully if we have the opportunity to pass by your place of business I will stop in to meet the persons responsible for making this vacation very special for my family! Sylvia & family from Spring Texas – stayed at La Hacienda July 31 thru Aug.4, 2011

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

LeAnn & Anthony: I just wanted to let you know how perfect the Canyon Breeze cabin was for our family. Being only a few minutes from the Park and having a secluded place to recover from the crowds was a perfect mix. A few hummingbirds, rabbits, and clear skies at night! Couldn't have asked for anything more; everyone is already asking, "When can we go back?" So, I'm sure we'll see you next year. Thanks again for a wonderful experience and pass our thanks along to Lee, the storyteller - the kids are still laughing! Jeff from Wylie, TX - June 8 thru 11, 2011

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

We had the most wonderful time at the Rio Lindo! Thank you so much for staying late to help us check in. We were disappointed that it rained both evenings as we wanted to see some stars, but the weather was great during the day. The cabin was so nice & cozy. My husband commented that he's never felt so comfortable in a rental place before. We're already planning a night or two in the winter so we can use the fireplace & campfire & maybe see some winter constellations! Thanks again! Shannon & Derek Sept.2010

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

We absolutely LOVED Frio Treetop! The main part, of course, the TREETOP DECK.  As you know, we used up all the propane sitting out there no matter how cold it got.  It was just a neat place to sit around and enjoy each other's company.  And we would hang out in the Treetop Deck, hot or cold weather.  When we finally drained the fire pit’s propane, we came in and sat around the fireplace.  The kitchen was fantastic with everything we needed and we also used that wonderful grill one night.  My husband and I slept like babies in the guest house Cottage.  I'm so glad we found this place to rent.  It was a memorable Thanksgiving with unbelievable sunsets. Tina & family from Baytown Texas - Thanksgiving 2010

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

Thanks LeAnn and Anthony for providing a wonderful place for our family get together over the holidays. The Frio Treetop is definitely a place to go back to. Can't wait to have our next family gathering there! This place will be great for family reunions or parties or even a quiet weekend getaway. There was so much room with beautiful views and fabulous decks to sit out on. The deck out in the tree is AMAZING as well as the fire pit with chairs to sit and enjoy the beautiful star lit night sky. We had all the modern conveniences and a fully furnished kitchen with all the accessories to prepare our Christmas meal. You all have done an amazing job with the Treetop! Will definitely be staying there again soon and spread the word about the Treetop with my friends.
Julie – Austin TX   Christmas 2010

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

My husband and I enjoyed our trip to the Frio River over the holidays and we stayed at the Frio Treetop house with family. We loved everything about our accommodations. From the incredibly comfortable king sized bed, to the soothing sounds of the river below us at night, to the full sized kitchen and spacious bathroom, the Treetop is a perfect place to spend your vacation. We especially loved the deck area nestled high in the trees, which has plenty of space to entertain as well as provide sweeping views of the Frio River. We cannot wait to come back! Lauren & Derek – Austin Texas Christmas 2010

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

Hi LeAnn and Anthony, We had a great time at the Frio Treetop for New Year’s 2011. We enjoyed hanging out in the Treetop Deck with the family and staying warm and singing songs around the table fire pit. The river down below is beautiful and the waterfall sounds relaxing. The views and sunsets are incredible. We even rode our bicycles right from the house. The location is excellent for cyclists. There was plenty of room in the house for everyone to gather and play games and enjoy family time. We cooked BBQ on the grill and had several cooks in the kitchen preparing each meal. This house is great for a family reunion. We look forward to coming back in the summer – and swimming in the Frio!  TJ and Carla from Cypress Texas – New Year’s 2011

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

We had the most wonderful time at the Rio Lindo! Thank you so much for staying late to help us check in. We were disappointed that it rained both evenings as we wanted to see some stars, but the weather was great during the day. The cabin was so nice & cozy. My husband commented that he's never felt so comfortable in a rental place before. We're already planning a night or two in the winter so we can use the fireplace, campfire & maybe see some winter constellations! Thanks again! Shannon & Derek from Austin TX stayed @ Rio Lindo Sept 17 & 18, 2010

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

Dear LeAnn, My family and I enjoyed our stay at TJ'S Escape so much! Our trip to Garner State Park was great, especially since we got to climb Old Baldy and tube in the river. Thanks so much for your hospitality! Yours truly, the Reavis Family from Victoria Texas – stayed at TJ's Escape July 30 thru Aug.2, 2010

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

Hi LeAnn, Just wanted to let you know that we really enjoyed our stay at the Lookout. It is a nice place and we really loved the rope swing. Kathy & Michael from Magnolia Texas stayed in Lookout July 26 thru 29, 2010

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

Hello LeAnn. I just wanted to say what a GREAT time we had La Hacienda! The pictures on the web site didn't do the house or river justice! The water was so beautiful!! The house was perfect! Thank you for all your help with reservations and questions! Our family loved it so much....... they are ready to make this an annual event! Thanks again! Take care, Celena - Lake Jackson, TX 77566 Stayed @ La Hacienda - July 29,30,31, Aug.1, 2010

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

Just wanted you to know that we enjoyed our stay last week. The weather was just right ...not too hot. The Utopia Fireworks were awesome... It was HUGE. We kept thinking we were seeing the end but it kept going & was the longest and brightest we had seen even on TV. Who would have thought something so big would not have more media telling about it. This was the perfect place for our family gathering. Thanks for everything! Shelley from Henderson Texas stayed July 3 thru 6, 2010 @ Lookout, Dove Nest & Meadows Cabins at Utopia River Retreat

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

Dear LeAnn, Just wanted to say again how much we enjoyed our fabulous 'Houston Audubon Birdathon Prize Weekend' at Rio Frio Lodging. Thank you so much for your warm hospitality, for the fascinating nestbox tour, and for the incredible bat flight evening. It was all an unforgettable experience! Thank you to for the important work that you and your family are doing – and for donating this wonderful prize to Houston Audubon. You can be sure that we'll be spreading the word about your special place. Sincerely, Joy Hester "Houston Audubon" - Stayed @ Hideaway Cabin May 14 &15, 2010

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

Hello LeAnn, We sure had a nice time at Casa Rio Frio. It was different from "usual" vacations/weekends and I commend you on how clean and well kept it is! I would highly recommend it to anyone and whoever does go there is lucky indeed. All the arrangements were smoothly handled which is great. It was a pleasure to meet your son, who greeted us so well and was such a nice fellow. God Bless you all and I hope we'll be able to do it again sometime. Janet – San Antonio Texas – stayed at Casa Rio Frio May 21,22,23, 2010

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

Hi LeAnn, We had a great stay. Thanks! As we pulled into Utopia on Saturday noonish found the Boy Scouts selling barbeque and the Jr Class had baked goods for sale all at the Lions Club Auction. Perfect for dinner Saturday night!! The Fortress was wonderful, loved all the majestic oaks and huge cypress along the banks. Very restful weekend which we needed. Many Thanks!! Oscar - Stayed at Fortress April 17&18, 2010 Oscar Williams Photographer, LLC Photo Journal:
http://www.owphoto.com/blog/ Website: http://www.oscarwilliams.com Facebook: http://profile.to/oscarwilliams/
Riverwalk Studios - 304 North Presa - San Antonio, TX 78205.2638 - 210/229.9997

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

We have been staying with Rio Frio Lodging at least five years. I usually come up with the whole family (Christina and the five kids) but this is my oldest son's "my big weekend with Dad". I am super excited and just wanted you to know what a special place all of your rentals have in our family's hearts. Simon from Corpus Christi, Texas ~ coming to Hideaway March 2010

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

LeAnn, I just wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed the Hideaway. I don't get to spend a lot of time with my two sons anymore, as we are all working and in our own separate worlds. This was a perfect place for us to be together without television, cell phones, and the general "rat race". It was a perfect Christmas for us all! I hope we will be able to come back another time!! Thank you, Becky from New Braunfels, TX ~ Stayed in the Hideaway Dec.21,22,23, 2009

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

Le Ann - We had a great time at Rio Lindo, and I swam in the Frio on our last day, a delightful memory that will stay with me forever. Vinny's Italian was very good; the Hog Pen BBQ was close to terrible! I really enjoy staying in small rural places like Leakey and the surrounding territory and would like to return. Your service was exactly as you promised it, and I would recommend you to anyone wanting to stay near Lost Maples. Thank you for renting Rio Lindo to us! Mike & Maria Seal Beach California Stayed @ Rio Lindo Nov.9 thru 11, 2009

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

LeAnn, We had a great vacation. The water was very nice and the kids had fun on the rope swing. The Sparkling Frio was the perfect place for our families. We also immensely enjoyed the 4th of July Parade @ Leakey. We were sorry we had to go home, and are all ready to come back next year. When is the earliest we can reserve for next July?
Thanks, Julie from Anderson, TX *Stayed at Sparkling Frio (during the drought) July 2 thru 5, 2009

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

Casa Rio Frio where we stayed was wonderful, very comfortable and beautiful. We enjoyed our stay during the African American Western Experience Event. Glad you enjoyed our Bluegrass Music, thank you for the compliment. Look forward to returning someday. Regards, The Buddy and Tina Wright Group www.buddyandtina.com from Lubbock, TX – April 2009

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

LeAnn, We had a wonderful time. The cabin was perfect and weather too. We used the 9th bed because I snored my husband out of the room! Everyone loved the pool table! Thanks so much for your help on this. Walter and son Paul couldn't believe we were on a golf course - they played two days - and I was fascinated with the old cemetery nearby. Also Lost Maples State natural Area was gorgeous even though the maple Leaves had already fallen off. I registered for your photo contest and will be sending you my entries soon. Thanks again. Joyce San Antonio, TX - Stayed @ Loma Linda Nov.27,28,29, 2008

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

LeAnn, We had a BLAST on the Frio and really enjoyed the Canyon Breeze cabin. It's a very beautiful place you guys have set up down there. We will be back, and we will be staying at your properties. Thanks again!!! Jared – Plano, TX – August 29, 2008

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

While sipping my morning coffee at the Steppin Back Guest Ranch, I watched turkey vultures soaring, three hummingbirds whizzing, a male cardinal perching at the very top of the cedar tree, and tiny sparrows darting in and out, chewing their seeds. A rabbit darted across, while a small skunk nosed between the cedar trees. All's right in heaven.
Sincerely Belle Melcher

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

Friday, Saturday, and Sunday, September 28 - 30 we were invited to a 70th weekend birthday celebration with relatives of all ages coming to, “Steppin’ Back Guest Ranch & Cabins”, from all directions in Texas. The drive got prettier and more mountainous the closer we got to Concan, which was just 2.5 miles from Garner State Park & the Frio River. Fall was in the air as the Maple trees were just beginning to change colors from green to yellow. Once we arrived at our beautiful and modern tin roofed log cabin with its roomy covered porch we stepped out of our car the smell of clean air was instantly refreshing. Our cabin was 1 of 3 cabins nestled on the 40 acres of evergreen trees with breathtaking views of the mountains. The other cabins were a short distance away with their own private surroundings. Stepping into our cabin and seeing the beautiful wooden walls, high ceilings, new wooden furniture, TV, bluebonnet artwork, and quilts on the beds really made us fell down home and comfy, but with style. Our kitchen was like ours at home with all new appliances and fully stocked with the essentials for family cooking. The 70th birthday party was like being on a dude ranch complete a professional story teller and camp fire where we roasted marshmallows under the clear starry night. We really enjoyed being with family in and around the fresh smelling evergreen trees and gazing at the endless constellations. The 70th birthday party was a huge success at, “Stepping Back Ranch & Cabins”, with all the modern comforts of home. Thanks for inviting us! Sincerely, Robert & Sam

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

I just wanted to thank you for such a wonderful cabin you furnished my wife and I with this weekend! It was even better than we expected! It was exactly what we needed to get a "break" from San Antonio stress. We will definitely be returning next chance we get. I was very impressed with the construction of the cabin. My wife and I are in the apartment industry. Cindy is an Apt Manager and I am a Maintenance Tech and I was very very impressed at how well built the Canyon Breeze cabin is. We would love to stay in the same cabin again. Danny from San Antonio, TX

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

LeAnn, I just wanted to let you know that I have told everyone in my office about the fantastic time we had last week at Cliff Top. I have passed on ya'll's info to two very interested co-workers. The beauty of the setting and the comfort of the house far surpassed our expectations. Our six days at Cliff Top was the most relaxing, refreshing vacation we have ever had. I would say more, but words just can't describe the peace and tranquility we experienced! I am already planning to return next year. Thanks, Sharon - Galveston, TX - July 29 thru Aug.3, 2008

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

My wife is a biologist and studied bats for her master’s thesis in South America. She was in awe. The Frio Bat cave is one of those unique places in the world. It took at least an hour for 10 million bats to pour out of that cave. The tour was informative and professional. There was no fear or sensationalism. Instead, there was respect and wonder at this amazing spectacle of nature. We could simply not believe our eyes. The column of bats in the sky extended for miles down into the Frio river valley! Take care, David

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

LeAnn, Monica and I had a wonderful stay at Rio Lindo. We very much enjoyed the peace and tranquility as well as exploring the area. We also really enjoyed the bat tour. That was spectacular. We hope to be able to visit the Frio Canyon area again soon. I will be telling our family and friends about the excellent lodging and tour services you provide. Since we have a few Rio Frio Lodging magnets, we will be passing those out as well as posting our vacation photos on our Facebook page. Thanks, David & Monica - Houston, TX April 7 thru 11, 2008

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

LeAnn, Thank you for a wonderful weekend at the Frio Guest House. We had a great time. The house is comfortable with amenities for all family members. We played volleyball, barbecued, watched TV and specially enjoyed the beautiful river view from the back porch swing. We will have to go back when the weather is warmer to be able to swim in the pristine waters of the river. We look forward to spending another perfect weekend getaway so close to home but still with the nice feeling of the countryside. Regards, Ines - from San Antonio, Texas Feb.22, 2008

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

LeAnn- I just wanted to thank you for such a wonderful cabin you furnished my wife and I with this weekend! It was even better than we expected! It was exactly what we needed to get a "break" from San Antonio stress. We will definitely be returning next chance we get. I was very impressed with the construction of the cabin. My wife and I are in the apartment industry. Cindy is an Apt Manager and I am a Maintenance Tech and I was very very impressed at how well built the Canyon Breeze cabin is. We would love to stay in the same cabin again. Danny from San Antonio, TX, December 2007

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

LeAnn & Anthony: We had a great time this weekend and intend on returning as soon as we can. The accommodations were first rate and the ranch is absolutely gorgeous. Our toddler had a great time feeding Cole ice (yes, we followed the instructions re: not feeding him food but we were somewhat disappointed we didn't get to see him bring us an empty bowl!). Thanks so much to Mark & Nancy, the owner's for the fresh vegetables out of their garden. We cooked them Sunday night and they were fantastic. Kevin - Labor Day Weekend 2007- Houston, Texas

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

The cabin was great. Everything was clean and close to all activities. Our family had a wonderful time. We loved the river, horseback riding and good ole' BBQ that we cooked every night there. Thanks for the great experience. We will definitely be going back. Thanks, The Zapata Family - September 2007

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

Just got back from River Tree Lodge and wanted to tell you what a great time we had this year! This is the 4th time we've stayed there and everyone loves it. We've decided that we are going to stay from Sunday to Sunday next year. Let me know how soon we can reserve for next summer. Thanks again for a great time. Susan Windsor, July 8 thru 12, 2007

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

LeAnn, Our family had a great time. Rio Lindo was perfect for us. I’d never stayed up on the west fork of the Frio before, but we really enjoyed having the river to ourselves. Attached is a picture of a rainbow & the river from Monday evening (July 2) after the rain. Thanks, Steven Pybus June 28 thru July 2, 2007

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

I started out camping in the Frio Canyon as a teenager, continued with my husband after we married, and when our kids were young. We began renting cabins and vacation homes when they were junior high age. The Frio River and the Hill Country is a place we love and long for, even for my daughter, who now lives in Hawaii . We have stayed with Rio Frio Lodging off and on for about 13 years. We've stayed at the Rio Lindo cabin 3 or 4 times, and several of their other lodgings through the years. Some of my favorite and most memorable experiences in the Hill Country have happened while staying at Rio Lindo. Rio Lindo is simple and uncomplicated, allowing you to immerse yourself in whatever aspects of the Hill Country you enjoy most. We have fished, swam, and just watched the river flow by. We've enjoyed the variety of birds and wild life, caravanned to nearby tubing sites and driven the incredible scenic routes of the area. We have shared the joys of Rio Lindo in past years with our teenaged children and our parents, and most recently with our 2 year old grandson. The nearby town of Leakey is peaceful and interesting, and the residents are friendly and helpful. We have explored the shops, museums and cemetery. Most of all Rio Lindo has a special place in our treasured family memories. Pam and Gary Jackson - Kirbyville , TX March 21 thru 16, 2007

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

Dear LeAnn and Anthony - Wow, we need more people like you all in this world. The family is doing better (over time). We really appreciate your kindness in refunding my mother in law’s deposit after her husband’s death. Thanks again and take care- Brad Hedrick (the son in law) July 2007

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

Dear LeAnn, We had a wonderful day viewing birds and nests on your Nature/Nestbox Tour! As you experienced my son is very interested in birds and nature. He learned so much and is now referring to the different birds by their proper name. He retained the names better than me, so I have to sharpen my memory! Your "off-road golf-cart" was impressive going up the steep hills! We definitely want to come back and experience the calm and beautiful area and to observe the fascinating birds again. The next two months my husband is traveling a lot so I am trying to fit everything in and see if we can schedule a trip later towards the summer. Our stay at Farhaven was very pleasant, the cottage had more charm than the photos indicated, everything was sparkling clean and the owners very nice and helpful. The cottage was well supplied with all our needs, towels, firewood, we even received fresh lettuce! We truly enjoyed every minute of our stay. Our son loved to play with the Cole, black lab, and went bird watching with the dog on the ranch. We saw deer and of course the cardinal. Anne - March 2007 - Houston, Texas

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

Click here to see 2006 and earlier

Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country
Click here if you would like to hire Professional Storyteller Lee Haile or Lora B Garrison for campfire storytelling.
Rio Frio Lodging - Fully Furnished Family-Friendly Houses and Cabins in the Texas Hill Country

© Rio Frio Lodging

Hosted and Maintained by
Web-Author.com

Rio Frio Lodging
PO Box 155, Rio Frio, Texas, 78879
Office Located on FM 1050, 10 miles W. of Utopia, TX 
or 5 miles East of Hwy 83 & Garner State Park
For Lodging & Tour Reservations Call Weekdays 10 am to 6 pm
830-966-2320
Email us at [email protected]